WHAT WAS YOUR FIRST EXPERIENCE OF SEXISM?

Sexism: sex·ism/ˈsekˌsizəm: Noun: Prejudice, stereotyping, or discrimination, typically against women, on the basis of gender.

To the women readers of my blog I pose the question:

What was your first experience with sexism? How old were you? What did the incident of sexism involve?

When I was young I experienced sexism in many guises, but, being inexperienced in the ways of the world, was not able to defend myself successfully against such attacks upon my humanity. As I got older, I have faced sexism in many ways, either from lack of commensurate rates of pay when doing the same job of a man (in this case, discrimination and sexism); disrespected by men in front of other men of various races; had males put their hands on my body in vulgar displays and had the audacity to expect me to accept it–and were shocked and enraged when I fought against such sexist hate.

I have experienced insulting, hateful remarks that would shock Lucifer himself, but, I would always have a comeback for the assailant that literally blew him away.

 

So, to my readers:  What are the rudest, most hateful, and most vilest acts of sexism you have encountered? Was the sexism directed mainly at you, or someone else? Was it from a neighbor, or from the media? Was it on the job? In your family? In your community (neighborhood, school, or church)? Why did it upset you? If not, why did it not upset you? What did you think of the person who committed this act of sexism?

NOTE: This post is for women readers only. If you are a male reader, please do not comment.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “WHAT WAS YOUR FIRST EXPERIENCE OF SEXISM?

  1. Jordan

    I think when a woman is called a gal is kind of annoying. I have heard southern 50+ men do this.

    In the workplace, I saw where another female employee was supposed to be sent to do training at client’s company and the client told my male boss that he didn’t want him to send him a woman to do the training. My boss was upset because this female employee was the best person do the training as she was an expert in that area and he was planning to send her. I don’t know if he ever told her what the client said or gave her a reason of why they couldn’t send her. I felt bad for her and angry that this crap still goes on.

    I knew another situation where a female employee and a male employee with the same titles, had started the job at the same time, however, they were getting paid different salaries. The man was being paid more. However, the man who was also her friend assumed that she was getting the same salary he was getting. They “compared notes” and they both found out this was not the case.

    Also in the workplace, I don’t think people realize how often sexual harassment and unwanted sexual advances occur. It occurs much more often than people think. Some women just don’t say anything and just deal with it because they don’t want any trouble or attention.

    MODERATOR: Yeah,
    I hear you on the gal
    syndrome.

    I once worked at an office where a supervisor was constantly calling me gal. One day I confronted him on it and told him that gal was offensive to me. I minced no words with him, and after that I no longer had to put up with the gal routine.

    From there on out, it was “Ann”.

  2. Jordan

    Sorry for the typo. I meant: I think when a woman is called a gal is kind of annoying. I have heard southern men age 50+ call women gals. I often wondered how they would feel if I would call them boy.

Leave a comment