VETERANS DAY: NOVEMBER 11, 2013

“How important it is for us to recognize and celebrate our heroes and she-roes!” -Maya Angelou

“When our perils are past, shall our gratitude sleep?” -George Canning

“I think there is one higher office than president and I would call that patriot.” -Gary Hart

“Lord, bid war’s trumpet cease; Fold the whole earth in peace.” -Oliver Wendell Holmes

“As we express our gratitude, we must never forget that the highest appreciation is not to utter words, but to live by them.” -John Fitzgerald Kennedy

“The most persistent sound which reverberates through men’s history is the beating of war drums.” -Arthur Koestler

“I dream of giving birth to a child who will ask, ‘Mother, what was war?'” -Eve Merriam

“In war, there are no unwounded soldiers.” -Jose Narosky

“We often take for granted the very things that most deserve our gratitude.” -Cynthia Ozick

“The more we sweat in peace the less we bleed in war.” -Vijaya Lakshmi Pandit

“I spent 33 years and four months in active military service and during that period I spent most of my time as a high class muscle man for Big Business, for Wall Street and the bankers. In short, I was a racketeer, a gangster for capitalism. I helped make Mexico and especially Tampico safe for American oil interests in 1914. I helped make Haiti and Cuba a decent place for the National City Bank boys to collect revenues in. I helped in the raping of half a dozen Central American republics for the benefit of Wall Street. I helped purify Nicaragua for the International Banking House of Brown Brothers in 1902-1912. I brought light to the Dominican Republic for the American sugar interests in 1916. I helped make Honduras right for the American fruit companies in 1903. In China in 1927 I helped see to it that Standard Oil went on its way unmolested. Looking back on it, I might have given Al Capone a few hints. The best he could do was to operate his racket in three districts. I operated on three continents.” – Major General Smedley Butler, U.S.M.C.

“Freedom is never free.” -Author Unknown

BLEEDING FLAGThe Flag Is Bleeding, #2, 1997, by Faith Ringgold

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

